Public piano... "permanent" vs. "temporary"

What do you think about public piano?

A nice thing to explore or to share culture / music passion. Plus, it's usually a nice place to socialize.

I do understand that this is a large question. Some are placed outdoor in public parks and may be seasonal, but some others are placed inside public building hallway or in my case : inside an university.

I started studying there in 2016, and this piano was already there. Unfortunately, I did not found any online proof for this specific piano.

My point of view : it's not because a piano have wheels and "can" be moved that means it's necessarily temporary. Othwerise, any other submitted things can be removed...

The rejection criteria reads Location, place, or object is temporary, or highly unlikely to be permanent

What do you think?

Comments

• X0bai-PGOX0bai-PGO Posts: 1,516 ✭✭✭✭✭

So the question is about “temporary,” which I understand but think it only addresses part of the issue. It looks like a basic piano in a basic hallway to me, and I think the lack of historical information on the piano reinforces that. It’s certainly not a great place to socialize, that’s nonsense (nobody is asking their girlfriend out to the piano), and if I reviewed a nomination that suggested that a piano was a great place to socialize it would leave a very poor impression on me. Also, this is indoors and the location is probably very difficult to prove unless there’s a photosphere. So I think “temporary” is something of a fallback rejection for reviewers, because I think there are a lot of sources of dissatisfaction here.

As for object permanence, it needs something to demonstrate that this piano was not wheeled into place ten minutes ago and wheeled away ten minutes later. It at least needs to look like it belongs there, and it doesn’t, particularly.