Help please with understanding rejection..low quality photo?

This wayspot was rejected from low quality photo. I signed out and signed in 3 times to try to trigger any other possible rejection reasons. It's the only one coming up.

The way the sun hits the building there is some shading in the name of the building, but I'm honestly at a loss as to why this was rejected. It is till clear. The sun passes across this building in such a way that at all times during the day part of the name is shaded like this.

What am I doing wrong? There is basically no way to take a photo without the shade effect, unless I were to take it on a rainy day in which case it will probably be rejected for low quality photo because it wouldn't be bright enough.

I would also like to say that I'm not experienced as some of you, but I have had about 125 other accepted nominations and this is the first time I've seen this rejection reason on one of my submissions.

Comments

• TheFarix-PGOTheFarix-PGO Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭✭✭

I always like taking photos of difficult buildings when there is an overcast or cloudy day. While it won't eliminate the shadow from the eaves, the softer light will make them less pronounced. Another good time for soft light is the hour after sunrise or the hour before sunset, also referred to as the "Golden Hour".

• RedHotRutabaga-PGORedHotRutabaga-PGO Posts: 40 ✭✭

Another thing to think about is to have Captree Commons fill more of the frame. Not that it is not large enough already, but if the glass windows, hedges, and branches were not as prominent it may get a different reaction from reviewers. And more of a straight on view would help. Just a few thoughts. Personally I like the pic for the main nomination pic. Good Luck.

• BREAKERofCHAlNS-PGOBREAKERofCHAlNS-PGO Posts: 18 ✭✭