Why are Niantic games not marketed as "crowd-sourced"?

First of all, with the in-game maps (a star feature, for sure) being filled with points provided by the community, it is a fact.

Also, there seems to be a disconnect with regular players and Wayfarer. With "crowd-sourced" being a part of your first experience, maybe more people will look into what exactly is crowd-sourced and learn about Wayfarer that way?

And then it's the marketing value of the word "crowd-sourced". I'm not an expert in any way, but surely it's a positive word? Like "play together with fiends" or "be social with others"?

Tagged:

Comments

• ftzzghzuhdidu-INGftzzghzuhdidu-ING Posts: 391 ✭✭✭

That sounds almost like communism. /s

• Roli112-PGORoli112-PGO Posts: 2,236 Ambassador

One more time, in English this time.

• phi2458-PGOphi2458-PGO Posts: 164 ✭✭✭

I’m also not an expert in marketing. But as a student of computer science, I would like to provide an opinion from a perspective of software engineering.

First of all, similar to other technology words, the word “crowd-sourced” is neutral. It is a methodology of software development. Second, developers will not apply a methodology merely because the methodology sounds cool. The methodology should be a solution to the problem. For example, Niantic developers won’t say that “Hey, nanotechnology sounds cool. Let’s apply it to our system.” Nanotechnology probably does not help in this context.