Nomination Got Rejected - Completely disagree with reason so need more clarity if resubmitting

258 days later my nomination got rejected, know there is a backlog so the time isn't really an issue here. The decision was however, as I am usually quite detailed in my nominations.

On the email, the reason it got rejected was:

'Nomination does not meet acceptance criteria. The real-world location of the nomination appears to be on private residential property or farm, Nomination title or description is not relevant.'

On the website, the reason the nomination got rejected was:

'Private Residence or Farm' and 'Other Rejection Criteria'

???

Notice the difference in rejection reasons? They are not synching up. But that's a different issue entirely.

I am convinced the reviewer(s) made a mistake and/or didn't check out all the supporting evidence provided, see below.

Title of the Wayspot: Bolehill Quarry Allotments - Bolehill Rec Entrance


Location: 53.39190478903484/-1.5065478541607358


City: Sheffield


Country: United Kingdom


Screenshot of the Rejection Email:


Photos to support your claim:

  1. Attached screenshot of allotment on Sheffield City Council website following the link I supplied as supporting information.
  2. Attached screenshot of allotment Satellite View following the Google Maps link I supplied as supporting information.

Additional information:

  1. It is on the official city council website, link provided within original nomination (https://www.sheffield.gov.uk/home/parks-sport-recreation/allotments).
  2. It is listed on Google Maps as a proper place link provided within original nomination (https://www.google.com/maps/place/Bolehill+Quarry+Allotments/@53.3917658,-1.5087533,17z/data=!3m1!4b1!4m5!3m4!1s0x487978a32cf8e56b:0xc3511697bb0e4f0b!8m2!3d53.3917626!4d-1.5065646) or search for 'Bolehill Quarry Allotments'

Bolehill Rec is the Recreation Ground, that is the main and only entrance to the allotment. You can see this in the supplied photo as well as the satellite view (if you zoom in and tilt, you can see the main photo supplied within the Recreation Ground) on Google Maps.

All other allotment / community gardens nominations that followed the same format was accepted fine with no issues so why is this one any different?

Need more clarity if even thinking about resubmitting this again. Got to be honest, feel kinda deflated and 2 months on from receiving rejection email only now posting this.

What more information, or supporting information, do I need? Is it meant to be this difficult? As a reviewer, thought the quality of nomination and supporting information was good enough to make an informed decision.

Anyway, any insight would be useful.

Ps. It's a shame Appeals aren't being considered right now as I don't understand why this one was rejected.

Tagged:

Comments

  • Thanks for the appeal, @Isitmoi-PGO! We're currently not reviewing PokéStop submissions. Please resubmit the nomination by improving its location if you feel that it was a valid nomination.

  • sogNinjaman-INGsogNinjaman-ING Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited November 2021

    The allotments exist - no problem and the sub should be good as you have a nice named sign

    BUT. The problem is the location of your pin. It is difficult to separate out the gardens behind the houses from the allotments, there are no obvious roads or tracks there. You have popped it in the middle of the allotments, and looking at Streetmap and Satallite View, I can't see an obvious entrance to the allotment site where the pin could be and where there is access for people wanting to interact with the POI. I would mark this as a "mismatched location" nomination.

    The pin needs to be where the sign is. I'm guessing there is some pedestrian access or allotment entrance at the south- west end of the site, with a gate to which this sign is attached. Make a photosphere of the access, making sure the POI / sign and gate is clearly visible and upload it to Google maps so reviewers can easily see the location of the sign. When it is uploaded, resubmit and say "Please see photosphere for location confirmation" or similar.

  • RatataFan045-PGORatataFan045-PGO Posts: 37 ✭✭

    Just wait for the December update to appeal it directly to Niantic. This is a 99.99% pass

  • Isitmoi-PGOIsitmoi-PGO Posts: 18 ✭✭

    Thanks for your reply.

    To your points:


    Photosphere is too much work especially if there is already enough information to make an informed decision. Can only assume the reviewer(s) just ignored the supporting information in the original nomination.

    Shouldn't be this hard.

  • Isitmoi-PGOIsitmoi-PGO Posts: 18 ✭✭

    Thanks for reply.

    This is amazing news to hear! Even better considering all those users who are no longer in their original nomination location, saves them having to resubmit when physically not able to do so.

    ---

    Reads Niantic reply about resubmission.

    Me: "I know, let's travel 110 miles back to resubmit the nomination" /s

    ---

    Thanks again, looking forward to this new feature.

  • Isitmoi-PGOIsitmoi-PGO Posts: 18 ✭✭

    That is great news! Looking forward to this event. Especially useful when it is difficult to resubmit - as not all users live in the location where they nominate. Or have moved on.

    Thanks Niantic for improving the system. I do have a number of other suggestions for improvement - is there a particular community section I can post these thoughts?

  • sogNinjaman-INGsogNinjaman-ING Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭✭✭

    If you are going to use the sign as an anchor point for the allotment, then the pin has to go where the sign is, not 50m away. That's not how Waypoint locations are meant to work. If the sign in the photo is located at the corner of the allotments in your link, that's where the pin must be. There is no doubt the allotments exist, the supporing info confirms this and a look at the Sat View does too. The doubt is "where is that anchor point" located.

    If a Photosphere is "too much work" then why complain if you put the pin 50m away from the location and then complain about having your submission rejected?

  • Isitmoi-PGOIsitmoi-PGO Posts: 18 ✭✭

    Thanks for your reply.


    In response going to try and not be combative, or argumentative here, but instead refer you to my original post and subsequent replies that follows.

    The key highlights being:

    • the nomination in question was taken 341 days ago still during the pandemic
    • the allotments were closed due to this (there is even a notice in one of the photos about covid closures, you may need to zoom in) - in fact the allotments would have been closed anyway because it was during Christmas week
    • all my other allotment nominations that follow the same pattern (anchor points) as this one got accepted - only this one did not get
    • none of them use photospheres
    • the google map markers are all set at the middle of these various allotments not by any welcome signs or noticeboards (i.e. something identifiable I chose)
    • so nomination is about the welcome sign which falls under the eligibility criteria (unless you're saying I take a photo of a random plot at the center of these allotments to align where the Google Map Marker has been placed - I feel that would have a higher fail rate somehow)
    • there is no noticeboard for this allotment only the zip tied bag of paper and notices by the entrance sign (see photo) otherwise I would have nominated that


    Photosphere - so you want me to travel over 100 miles back to a place I don't live just to resubmit the wayspot again? Very much my definition of 'too much work'. i can't believe you don't think that's unreasonable. Unless I can claim back the petrol expenses from yourself or even Niantic. /s And even then your suggestion is no guarantee of the nomination being accepted. Unless you are the actual reviewer if I ever decide to resubmit it. Then let's go, I'll hop in the car now. /s

    Now, if I was reading this a different way... you are basically recommending 'breaking and entering' into a closed venue just to take a photosphere that matches up with the Google Map Marker? Are you really telling me to break the law here?

    >The doubt is "where is that anchor point" located.

    Not really the Google maps feature is pretty good. Especially on the review screen if you click on the Google name within the map embed it opens up a new browser tab onto Google Maps website itself and you have access to more features to make a reasonable judgement. I think that's where we are - at the end of the day I do not believe best judgement was used, and you can tell that with the conflicting rejection reasons (both on the email and on the website itself).

    >'If the sign in the photo is located at the corner of the allotments in your link, that's where the pin must be. '

    100% that is what I've done here and the right approach so I'm confused what your disagreement here is.

    The only question I have left for you is... were you the original reviewer of my nomination? /s

    Merry Christmas you filthy animal! ;)

Sign In or Register to comment.