The "20 meter rule" is false - myth busted
Hello everyone, I have a long story to tell. Grab some popcorn.
Some weeks ago, I heard of the myth, that the "20 meter rule" may be irrelevant in Pokemon Go.
It is just from importance, that both pokestops are in their own S2 L17 cell.
I thought, that I could check that myth, so I nominated a wall paint, that is next to an existing pokestop.
The existing pokestop is marked red.
This would be possible, because the little house where the wall paint is on, is split by the border of a L17 cell. On the picture you can slightly see the corners of the little house. On the left, there is the green box as a pokestop and on the right there would be space for a new pokestop (the one in the circle) - but only if the 20 meter rule is false.
As you can see, the wall paint was accepted and is now in the game! 😊
In the photo, the green box is taken over by team go rocket and the new wall paint has the white circle around it.
So yeah, I hope this was insightful for you. Maybe there are some places in your region where you can also try this out.
Best wishes, Luigi