I created a submission for a new stop, which I wasn’t able to submit at the time because I was more than 10 km away. I very carefully chose the correct location on the map.
Last week, on 7/24/26, I was back in the area and I was able to finally submit it using my mobile browser. I didn’t change anything in the submission, including the location. But, later when I looked back at my submissions, I saw that the location was now incorrect. I immediately tried to get the location changed, but it was still in the submission process.
Now, not only was the spot not accepted, but also I’ve been issued a warning, despite the fact that I’m the one who reported the problem.
My best guess is that it used the location where I was when I later submitted the stop. But, there’s no way I could have known that it was going to do that, and I certainly didn’t do it maliciously. The error is in the website, and I’m being blamed.
First, what happened to my submission so that the location got changed after I created it? Second, how did this result in me getting a warning, when I’ve never shown any sign of breaking any rules ever? Third, how do I correct the warning? I don’t want this on my account record.
I don’t even care that much about getting this particular submission accepted. I just want the warning gone, permanently.
The key piece of information will be in the email you got confirming submission under the photo there are the co ordinates.
Find that information and that will confirm what you submitted.
Were you submitting using the web submit? Did you create a draft and then submit that later.
I have found it a good method but have had problems as when you open it to submit you are able to make amendments and that includes the location. On a mobile device I have found it “easy” when moving down to submit to nudge the screen and therefore the location.
I have become very aware and try to check.
I also put the nomination on hold straightaway to give me time to check before finally releasing.
Does any of this help?
I didn’t include the coordinates because I don’t want help with them, and because this is a public forum. I know that the location was incorrect because I saw it on the map, and I tried to get it changed. This is about my account, not about that spot.
From some other posts it looks like this is a known problem where it will change the location to your location when you reopen a draft. This is using the website, which I had to use, because that’s where I created the draft, and because it takes much less of my phone’s resources.
Since this is a known problem, I don’t understand why it resulted in a warning in the first place, but the most important thing is that the warning needs to be removed, completely, with a completely clean record on my account.
When I tried to get the location corrected in the chat, I got a ticket or case number, which I did not write down because I didn’t know it was going to disappear. It never occurred to me that I could get a strike against my account because of a known issue with the platform.
Sorry this has happened. It’s definitely frustrating.
I understand not wanting to share the coordinates, but I believe @elijustrying was trouble shooting with different points during the nomination that things can go wrong and/or you can check your inputs.
I’m not familiar with this being a ‘Known Issue’. I looked for it here to confirm or not but didn’t see it
I will look at other posts where folks have been flagged but am not sure this has raised to the level as a recognized issue.
In your situation you did all that you could to correct it one you realized, so I hope staff can review that and take it under consideration.
I don’t think anyone is up to anything nefarious, I’m just not comfortable giving out the exact coordinates of a location that I visit regularly. I also don’t publish my account name on my submissions. (I can tell you that if you know the general area, you can place it on the satellite map just from the photos. If I wanted to falsify a location, that would be a very poor choice.)
I didn’t particularly do a deep dive, but I found several other topics describing a problem which sounds basically the same, or at least like it could have been the same thing, just from using the related posts that showed up at the bottom of the screen.
In a couple of those posts there are other people talking about having had the same experience with the location moving after they reopen a draft. So, it may not have been officially documented as a bug, but it’s been reported, and the behavior appears not to be unexpected. This is why I posted in the bug report forum rather than the general one.
If I had known that the location might be changed when I reopened the draft, I would have double checked it. That needs to either be treated like a bug, and then fixed, or else there should be a notification warning you to check the location when you reopen a draft.
It is probably a warning because you have a good record.To alert you that something was not correct.
Have you followed the process to submit an appeal?
That will mean they look at your case. You get a chance to say what you believe happened.
I think there is a misunderstanding. We are not asking for the coordinates simply checking that you knew where to find the information. We are keen to help unpick what process happened.
Going into a draft allows you to change all aspects.
And that includes the location.
My personal preference would be for a lock /unlock feature for the location, to make it a very deliberate choice to move the location.
I know where it happened. There’s only one thing I’ve ever submitted with the wrong location. I know about it because I tried to get it fixed already, which is why this is so incredibly frustrating.
It’s very upsetting to open the app to a bright red warning notice when all I’ve ever done is try to help make it better for others. A warning in this system does not seem to just be a warning.
I tried submitting an appeal, but I have no idea if I provided adequate information, since I didn’t know that I was going to need to be able to make a case. If I’d known that this was possible, i would have double and triple checked everything.
I agree that this will be stressful and unpleasant.
I dont know if you can submit the appeal again, having thought through more what you might want to say. Sometimes a member of the Wayfarer Team will open a forum DM with you so that you can discuss in private.
I know you will want a resolution quickly but at this point you may need to wait, hopefully not too long but a wait nonetheless.
The nomination doesn’t change its location on its own. It might have taken the incorrect location during the submission, or you might have dragged the marker mistakenly.
I have removed the warning on your account, and it won’t appear on your account for any future reference.
Thank you! Getting the warning removed is exactly what I wanted most.
I was also hoping that by reporting it here, possibly something might be done about the underlying mechanism, so that this can stop happening.
It appears to be the case that if you reopen a draft, the location will automatically change to wherever you are when you reopen the draft, not wherever you originally put it. Is that what happens? If so, either that behavior should be changed so it’s more predictable, or there should be some kind of notification when you reopen a draft, to let people know that they need to adjust the location.
When I recently did some drafts, some by beginning at home, editing (with photos), then finishing at home again, and others by beginning on site and finishing at home, I found it way too easy to bump the pin when I didn’t mean to. Thankfully, I did notice when this happened, and didn’t save the unintentional changes, but you are not the only one having this issue. I am thrilled that the location can be adjusted, especially when the location from my photos is not being picked up and the pin is just going where gps says I am standing, but maybe some confirmation could pop up to make us aware when we have moved the pin? I have no idea if this is a big ask.
It appears that the design error is that it is possible to accidentally move the marker, by scrolling the page. One fix for this would be the ability to Lock/Unlock the location.
You may see this as the location automatically changing to where you are when you reopen the draft, but I have seen no evidence of this in other comments and Scopely Explore have definitely said this isn’t happening. They have however said that accidental movements are possible.