Should I report these description and location edits?

Hi,

I’m new to reviewing and have two questions about description and location edits.

I’ve had a few description edits telling me which location is the right one and I don’t know if I should report them? The suggested description is clearly not a description of the waypoint but an instruction or information about which location I should choose. It seems like abuse of the functionality but the intention might not be abusive as they are trying to provide information about the edit?

Also, sometimes I see location edits with like 5 different suggested locations very close to each other, within a few meters or even less. I am afraid of picking any of them, even if one seems more correct than the others, because my rating will go down if I don’t pick the same one as the other reviewers? Why can there even be this many locations so close to each other? To me it seems like the edit doesn’t even make a difference and I feel like it’s a waste of my time dealing with these because I actually spend some time looking at street views and satellite views of these places to try and figure out which one is better.

Hope someone can help clarifying this to me.

This is abuse, so you can report them, or vote accordingly, which ever you prefer

For your point about multiple location changes - it could be that because our edits weren’t visible for years in contribution management that people have resubmitted things over multiple years. So not necessarily anything suspicious. It could also be that several people have submitted corrections and its never been voted on till now. I still have edits in voting from a year or 2 ago, and that’s not unusual

I would pick the best one, or say I don’t know for these. I don’t even know if we are sure we get agreements at all for edits :sweat_smile:

2 Likes

Hi, welcome!